Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Sen. Larry A. Martin, Chairman Sen. George E. Campsen, III Sen. Gerald Malloy Rep. Bruce W. Bannister Rep. Murrell Smith Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Kristian C. Bell Michael Hitchcock Susan Taylor Wall Robert M. Wilcox



Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

MEDIA RELEASE

August 1, 2016

The Public Hearings for the Judicial Merit Selection Commission have been scheduled to begin Monday, November 14, 2016, with the hearings commencing at 9 a.m. regarding the qualifications of the following candidates for judicial positions:

Supreme Court

Seat 5 The Honorable Ralph King (Tripp) Anderson III, Columbia, SC

The Honorable Diane Schafer Goodstein, Summerville, SC

Elizabeth H. Brogdon, Chief Counsel

Emma Dean, Counsel

The Honorable George C. James Jr., Sumter, SC

The Honorable R. Keith Kelly, Moore, SC

The Honorable Carmen Tevis Mullen, Hilton Head, SC

John Shannon Nichols, Columbia, SC **Matthew T. Richardson**, Columbia, SC

Court of Appeals

Seat 1 The Honorable Paul Edgar Short, Jr., Chester, SC

Seat 2 The Honorable Harris Bruce Williams, Columbia, SC

Seat 9 Blake Alexander Hewitt, Conway, SC

The Honorable David Garrison (Gary) Hill, Greenville, SC

Jon René Josey, Florence, SC

The Honorable Alison Renee Lee, Columbia, SC

Circuit Court

7th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 Grace Gilchrist Knie, Campobello, SC

The Honorable Joshua Lee Queen, Gaffney, SC

The Honorable John Marshall Rollins Jr., Campobello, SC The Honorable James Donald Willingham II, Moore, SC

At-Large, Seat 1 Jeffrey P. Bloom, Columbia, SC

Meliah Bowers Jefferson, Greenville, SC

The Honorable George Marion McFaddin Jr., Gable, SC

William Vickery (Vick) Meetze, Marion, SC

David W. Miller, Aiken, SC

Timothy Ward Murphy, Sumter, SC

The Honorable Bentley D. Price, Charleston, SC

Robert L. Reibold, Columbia, SC

Family Court

8th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 Mindy Westbrook Zimmerman, Newberry, SC

Samuel M. Price Jr., Newberry, SC

At-Large, Seat 7 Huntley Smith Crouch, Lexington, SC

Melissa M. Frazier, Little River, SC

Thomas (Tommy) Tredway Hodges, Greenville, SC

Paul Fredrick LeBarron, Charleston, SC

The Honorable Erika L. McJimpsey, Moore, SC

Kimaka Nichols-Graham, Greenville, SC Delton Wright Powers Jr., Florence, SC

The Honorable Kenneth G. Southerlin Jr., Greer, SC

Michael Todd Thigpen, Roebuck, SC

At-Large, Seat 8 Martha M. Rivers Davisson, Williston, SC

The Honorable Rosalyn W. Frierson, Columbia, SC

Laurel Eden Harvey Hendrick, Columbia, SC

John Morgan Kearse, Allendale, SC R. Chadwick Smith, Rock Hill, SC

The Honorable Elizabeth Biggerstaff York, Florence, SC

Administrative Law Court

Seat 2 Paula Knox Brown, Rock Hill, SC

The Honorable Kayin R. Darby, Columbia, SC The Honorable B. Keith Griffin, Sumter, SC

Bryan S. Jeffries, West Columbia, SC Milton G. Kimpson, Columbia, SC Grady L. Patterson III, Columbia, SC

The Honorable Crystal Rookard, Columbia, SC

Debra Sherman Tedeschi, Columbia, SC

Retired Judges

Circuit Court The Honorable J.C. (Buddy) Nicholson Jr., Isle of Palms, SC

Family Court The Honorable Georgia V. Anderson, Spartanburg, SC Family Court The Honorable Robert S. Armstrong, Seabrook, SC The Honorable Alvin D. Johnson, Pickens, SC

Talmiy Court The Honorable Aven B. Goldson, Flexens, Sc

Family Court The Honorable Leslie Kirkland Riddle, Columbia, SC

Family Court The Honorable Henry T. Woods, Rock Hill, SC

Persons desiring to testify at public hearings shall furnish written notarized statements of proposed testimony, in accordance with the Procedural Rules of the Judicial Merit Selection Commission. These statements must be received by **Noon, Monday, October 31, 2016.** The Commission has witness affidavit forms that may be used for proposed testimony. While this form is not mandatory, it will be supplied on request. Statements should be mailed or delivered to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows:

Elizabeth Herlong Brogdon, Chief Counsel 104 Gressette Building, Post Office Box 142 Columbia, SC 29202

All testimony, including documents furnished to the Commission, must be submitted under oath. Persons knowingly giving false information, either orally or in writing, shall be subject to penalty.

For further information about the Judicial Merit Selection Commission and the judicial screening process, you may access the website at www.scstatehouse.gov/html-pages/judmerit.html.

Questions concerning the hearing and procedures should be directed to the Commission at (803) 212-6623.